Categories: Organizations

An association of ten independent South East Asian nations, ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) was founded in August 1967 in Bangkok by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei joined the association in 1984, followed by Vietnam in 1995. Myanmar (formerly Burma) and Laos were accepted as full members of the association in 1997, as was Cambodia in 1999.

ASEAN’s permanent secretariat is based in Jakarta, Indonesia. The main aims of the organisation as set out in the Bangkok Declaration of 1967 are the promotion of economic growth, social and cultural progress, and the maintenance of peace and stability in the region.

A joint forum with Japan was established in 1977 and a Cooperation Agreement was signed with the European Union in 1980. The ASEAN Member States decided to establish a free trade zone in 1992 and lower customs duty on non-agricultural goods from 1993 for a period of 15 years.


Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/clients/936e84b1112acbb5adcac2b26659ad2b/web/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/minify/class-wp-optimize-minify-fonts.php on line 203

Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/clients/936e84b1112acbb5adcac2b26659ad2b/web/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/minify/class-wp-optimize-minify-fonts.php on line 203

Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/clients/936e84b1112acbb5adcac2b26659ad2b/web/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/minify/class-wp-optimize-minify-fonts.php on line 203

Categories: Organisationen

Bündnis von zehn unabhängigen Staaten Südostasiens. Die ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) wurde im August 1967 von Indonesien, Malaysia, den Philippinen, Singapur und Thailand in Bangkok gegründet. Brunei schloss sich 1984 dem Bündnis an, Vietnam kam 1995 hinzu. Myanmar (das frühere Birma) und Laos wurden 1997, Kambodscha 1999 als Vollmitglieder in den Bund aufgenommen.

Das ständige Sekretariat der ASEAN hat seinen Sitz in Jakarta in Indonesien. Die wichtigsten Ziele der Organisation, niedergelegt in der Erklärung von Bangkok von 1967, sind: Die Beschleunigung des wirtschaftlichen Wachstums, sozialer und kultureller Fortschritt sowie die Sicherung von Frieden und Stabilität in der Region.

Ein gemeinsames Forum mit Japan wurde 1977 ins Leben gerufen, ein Kooperationsvertrag mit der Europäischen Union 1980 unterzeichnet. 1992 beschlossen die ASEAN-Mitgliedsstaaten die Errichtung einer Freihandelszone und die Senkung der Zölle für nichtlandwirtschaftliche Güter ab 1993 für einen Zeitraum von 15 Jahren.